Garthorpe Races | The Garthorpe Championship
Garthorpe is the East Midlands premier point to point racing course.
horse racing, garthorpe, steeplechasing, steeplechase, point to point, point to point racing, leicestershire, melton mowbray, rutland, bar, beer, venue,
page-template-default,page,page-id-17373,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

The Garthorpe Championship

The  Southwell Racecourse Garthorpe Championship 2016


Leading Male Jockey

Tom Chatfeild-Roberts       34

Fred Henderson                   25

Sam Davis-Thomas             20

Leading Female Jockey

Gina Ellis                            52

Claire Hart                           19

Lara Mahon                         7

 Kelly Morgan                        7

Leading Horse

Mr J. Chatfield-Roberts  – L’Eldorado           21

Mr J. Henderson – Dream Witness                   15

                 Mrs J. Wilson – Proximo                                   12

Mr T. Bourne and Mr M. Hyde  -Samarnni               12

Leading Lady Rider – £100 tack voucher (for T.Frosts of Bawtry), Table for 2 in the Seasons Restaurant & a bottle of Champagne.

Leading Male Rider – £100 tack voucher for (T. Frosts of Bawtry). Table for 2 in the Seasons Restaurant  & A bottle of Champagne.

Leading Owner – £100 cash, table for two in the Seasons Restaurant & a bottle of Champagne.

The lunch package includes: Silver Package – Premier Admission, 3 – course meal, table for the afternoon/evening & race-card. No drinks included and subject to the date will be availability.


  • Garthorpe Championship is for Leading Male and Female Rider and leading owner.

  • One horse to count towards points.

  • Mens Open, Ladies Open and Mixed Open:

    1st place – 7 points
    2nd place – 5 points
    3rd place – 3 points.

  • All other races:

    1st place – 6 points
    2nd place – 4 points
    3rd place – 2 points.

  •   If points are tied number of winners will decide, and if still tied, number of seconds.